Independence Award

Seven personalities and three organizations were given Independence Award 2004 in recognition of their outstanding contributions to national life.

The awardees are Oli Ahad (independence and liberation war), Comrade Moni Singh (posthumous- independence and liberation war), Brig (retd) Prof Abdul Malik (medical science), Muhammad Siddique Khan (posthumous- education), Abu Ishaq (posthumous- literature), Altaf Mahmud (posthumous- culture) and Valrie Ann Taylor (public service) and Bangladesh Ansar and VDP (sports), Rural Development Academy, Bogra (rural development) and Sandhani (social service).

Family members of the awardees, who won the award posthumously, received the awards from the Prime Minister.